lkubuntu

A listing of random software, tips, tweaks, hacks, and tutorials I made for Ubuntu

BZFPS – A battlezone-like FPS

As an exercise in C and OpenGL programming, I decided to try to make a very basic game in the style of battlezone, inspired by toledo’s 3.5KB battlezone clone. The main point of writing this game (apart from the exercise) was to write a fully functioning and fun game using a minimalistic structure for libraries, media, codebase (the lack of comments was not related though… it’s rather just laziness on my part :/), and even the game design. Here are some of the features implemented in this game:

  • Old-school explosions (you know, lines going everywhere)
  • 2.5D background
  • FPS-like movement
  • Sounds (for this I had to cheat on both libraries and media)
  • Reasonable 3D models
  • Basic AI
  • Screen shakes when you shoot (tried to make it look like a machinegun)

I have made a relatively old video about this located here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZXYfD7lZt8M&feature=plcp. As you can see, I worked on the tank models since the video :P

Here is also a screenshot (for those of you who don’t like videos, I would be included):

BZFPS screenshot

Anyways, here is the link to the source: https://github.com/MiJyn/BZFPS. To compile if you don’t have eclipse, simply run:

cd Debug && make -f makefile

from the project directory. Running is just a matter of double-clicking (if you are using a graphical file manager) the resulting executable.

I do not plan on continuing this project (though I know that it is definitely not finished), as I feel that I am sort of wasting time trying to find a fast collision detection/response algorithm. If anyone cares to submit a patch to fix that, feel free to go ahead, and I will pull it :).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

