lkubuntu

A listing of random software, tips, tweaks, hacks, and tutorials I made for Ubuntu

Muffin Factory – A track I made in LMMS

Heh, I’ve been going pretty well with my no-post streak! A bit more than 3 months!! Well, I haven’t exactly died, but I didn’t really find any reason to post on this blog, and even this post is not really a good reason to post here anyways XD . I will post tutorials here soon though (about game development under linux… not exactly ubuntu-specific, but close enough lol), once I finish my 2 projects (that are taking up nearly all of my free time).

In the meantime, I thought why not share a track I made purely using linux and, more specifically, LMMS. I used Miroslav Philharmonik (which works great under WINE) for most of the orchestral sounds. I will probably post a tutorial soonish about how to setup LMMS, and create an orchestral track with it (using the Philharmonik), plus maybe another one about to create cover art like that (not saying that you’d want to, but, you know, I learned a lot from tutorials that showed me how to do things that I didn’t care about :P). But for now, here’s the track itself:

Let me know what you think of it :3

3 responses to “Muffin Factory – A track I made in LMMS

  1. israeldahl August 5, 2013 at 4:00 am

    what about using fluidsoundfont GM from the repos, for the symphonics? I have used it quite successfully for adding similar symphonic elements. There are Violas, Timpani, Cello. I actually think the strings sound better in fluidsoundfont GM. Though I really like your song idea… very Epic!! Seriously check out the soundfont!

    • MiJyn August 5, 2013 at 5:58 am

      Yes, that exact soundfont was used for the strings in the second section (the ones that repeat quickly), and I used to use it for everything (WIP 2 and WIP 1 both used it), before I had the philharmonik. In what saw of it (the GM soundfont), it’s are awesome for some cases, but less good for others (the philharmonik isn’t 7GB for no reason ;) ). The sound isn’t as rich as the philharmonik, but it’s of course better for cases when you don’t need a rich sound (such as the repeating strings, a rich sound would have obstructed it) =)

      Thanks a lot for the kind suggestion though, and thanks for the compliment :D

  2. Pingback: Setting up an audio studio under Ubuntu – Part 1: Setting up JACK | lkubuntu

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

