lkubuntu

A listing of random software, tips, tweaks, hacks, and tutorials I made for Ubuntu

I’m not 22

For a long time, I’ve been saying that I was 21/22 (1/1/1990) for internet security reasons, and then it was because I had told others that I was 21/22. I think that it would be about time for me to release my age publicly, as I feel that it would do more harm than good if I continued claiming that I’m 22 (soon to be 23 :P).

Getting to the point, I’m 14. Yes, I have programmed what I have programmed, and yes, I did use google a lot (it’s like my teacher). I’m sorry if this hurts anyone that I lied about that, but now I hope that this can make up for it :)

10 responses to “I’m not 22

  1. Robert December 8, 2012 at 1:13 am

    Who cares? :) Really??
    You are not a number and should not be judged by the number you have that’s your age counter…so *shrug* life is good. Keep on going :)
    You just have to wait longer until you can retire now…so it all balances out.

    • Anonymous Meerkat December 8, 2012 at 1:42 am

      If only everyone understood that! And I lol’d on your “retire” comment xD

  2. Martin Owens December 8, 2012 at 7:16 am

    Keep up the good work. When I was 12, I had to face prejudice against age because many adults just couldn’t understand the idea of young people sensible enough to be in a productive community.

    • lkjoel December 8, 2012 at 9:25 pm

      Sort of like stereotyping/typecasting, right?

  3. Robert December 9, 2012 at 2:04 am

    Every time I’ve seen the age of (Ubuntu and other online) community members come up, most people have a completely inaccurate idea of how old other people are, even without people fudging the numbers for various reasons. When I was your age (oh god, that makes me sound old), I didn’t give out my age at all but people assumed I was in my twenties when it came up.

    In other words, you’re mostly just continuing a long-standing tradition of everyone being completely wrong about everybody else’s age (although you went about it more deliberately than some), and shouldn’t sweat about it :D

  4. Fitoschido December 9, 2012 at 4:36 am

    Honestly, why would this matter? You are an equally valuable Ubuntu Member regardless of your age.

  5. calcmandan December 10, 2012 at 3:15 pm

    For a period of a few months, Flightgear was taking tons of my personal time, I befriended a military aircraft enthusiast on the forums who took an active interest in the things I was doing in the simulator. We eventually worked together building themed ‘missions’ for other players to enjoy and his knowledge in vietnam era craft and cold war weapons gave me the illusion that my new friend was middle aged. The only thing I could think of when he revealed to me his age of 14 was my regret for ever using salty language in the chat channel. All I could do was admire how a kid his age was able to make professional looking 3D models of military jets. So, with that in mind, keep up the great work man.

  6. Seegras December 11, 2012 at 11:53 am

    I am 23. It says so on my homepage. Actually, it said so since I was 21. It still says I’m 23, it’s been saying that for 17 years I think ;)

  7. bulletrulz December 27, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    Joel dont let the minetest idoits get you down ur awesome

    • Anonymous Meerkat December 27, 2012 at 11:11 pm

      Pretty much any community have their issues :)

Leave a Reply

