lkubuntu

A listing of random software, tips, tweaks, hacks, and tutorials I made for Ubuntu

Make XFCE4 Bottom Dock look like Docky/AWN

I recently installed XFCE 4.8, and I was happy with it, except that I didn’t like that the top panel had the window list, and the bottom dock was just a launcher.

I decided to move the window list at the top to the bottom panel, and remove the launchers.

Screenshot: http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/4427/panel20screenshot.png

To change your panel configuration to the one that the screenshot shows:

  1. Type this into a Terminal window
    xfce4-panel -q
    killall -KILL xfconfd
    killall -KILL xfsettingsd
    cd ~/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/
    mv xfce4-panel.xml xfce4-panel.xml.bak
    wget http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21016209/xfce4-panel.xml
  2. Log out and log back in (killall -KILL xfce4-session)

If you have any problems, feel free to comment below.

11 responses to “Make XFCE4 Bottom Dock look like Docky/AWN

  1. phreetoz September 4, 2011 at 4:57 am

    awesome post, this helped out so much, thanks! Digging the new feel for sure.

  2. marp September 4, 2011 at 8:13 am

    Cool wallpaper, from where’s that available?

  3. Robin Lyndsay Taylor September 4, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    I have mine looking like Unity! Launchers on the side, task bar on top, invisible unless I “mouse over it.” Xfce is so wonderfully configurable!

    • Anonymous Meerkat September 5, 2011 at 3:22 pm

      I tried doing that, but I couldn’t get the Indicator-Appmenu to work!
      I’ll make a post on how to do that later (without the indicator-appmenu).

  4. Pingback: Links 7/9/2011: Linux World Domination, China Picks IBM’s GNU/Linux Mainframe | Techrights

  5. MIlanK October 11, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    A pretty misleading title – it is not like dockx / awn / cairo-dock et al. It looks like, but does not behave like that :-(

    While some think that eye-candy is the selling point of awn, for me it is the possibility to have a single panel with launchers, which are used also for window switching etc.

  6. pHerret November 19, 2011 at 2:12 am

    I opened a terminal and typed everything you said word for word. First problem: the ‘killall’ commands had no effect because apparently xconfd is not installed on my system. Well, the taskbar is gone, so I had to log out by right clicking on the desktop and choosing from there. No biggie. So, I logged back in, and I still have no taskbar. I would rather have it annoyingly on the top and not blocking part of my browser than not have it at all. Since I am a complete n00b, can you tell me how to get it back? Thank you.

  7. pHerret November 19, 2011 at 2:24 am

    Okay, I managed to get the panel back. Can anyone tell me how I can have the task bar on the bottom where I like it better and not have it block the bottom of open windows, i.e. my web browser, etc., or, alternatively, move my browser and other windows to the top of the screen, which it seems to be bending over backwards to not allow me to do?

  8. agemo August 30, 2016 at 4:43 pm

    Thank You Anonymous Meerkat, I had no problem. Your little How-To, worked exactly as you described :-)

    greets agemo

Leave a comment