lkubuntu

A listing of random software, tips, tweaks, hacks, and tutorials I made for Ubuntu

How to set up WineASIO

Step 1: Install WineASIO

If you use ubuntu, run this in a terminal:

sudo apt-get install software-properties-common wget
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:kxstudio-debian/kxstudio
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install kxstudio-repos
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install wineasio

If you use Arch Linux:

Add the Arch Audio repository, then run in a terminal:

sudo pacman -Sy wineasio

Step 2: Register WineASIO

If you have a 32-bit WINE prefix, or you have a 64-bit one, and you want to run a 32-bit ASIO application (e.g. a DAW), run this:

regsvr32 wineasio

If you have a 64-bit WINE prefix, and you want to run a 64-bit ASIO application:

wine64 regsvr32 wineasio

If everything went smoothly, you should see a message similar to:

Successfully registered DLL wineasio.dll

However, you may receive:

Failed to load DLL wineasio.dll

In my case, the reason why this message occurred, is that wineasio.dll was installed to the wrong location. I had 2 problems, actually. It was first installed to /usr/lib/wine, not /usr/local/lib/wine (I have a custom-built version of WINE), and second, even if it had been installed to /usr/local/lib/wine, it wouldn’t have worked, because, in my case, WINE loaded 64-bit libraries only from /usr/local/lib64/wine, and 32-bit libraries only from /usr/local/lib/wine. The package had installed the 32-bit version of wineasio to /usr/lib32/wine, and the 64-bit version to /usr/lib/wine.

Try moving the wineasio .so’s to these places:

  • 64-bit wineasio .so: /usr/lib64/wine
  • 32-bit wineasio .so: /usr/lib/wine

Then try again. If you still have problems, leave a comment below, and I’ll try my best to help =)

Step 3: Setup JACK

WineASIO uses JACK as the backend for the audio, so, not surprisingly, JACK has to be setup correctly for WineASIO to function correctly. I wrote an article a while back about how to do this.

Step 4: Profit!

It’s that simple! Now all you have to do is to load up the application you want, and set the ASIO driver to WineASIO =)

19 responses to “How to set up WineASIO

  1. Alex April 12, 2014 at 8:28 pm

    Hi, well since you offered here it goes :)

    I’m running Debian testing Xfce. I was able to succesfully register wineasio.dll. However, I decided to install wineasioi686:i686 and now wineasio is not loaded. I’m guessing it has to do with the lib32 / lib64 paths of wineasio, so when installing the i686 version I must have overriden the former path (if it makes any sense at all).

    I already located the wineasio.dll.so file, but by God I can’t figure out where the heck to copy it to. I’m guessing where the 63 AND 32 bit libs are, but my system doesn’t have any lib32 or lib6 folders. Any ideas welcome.

  2. Fabrizio June 13, 2016 at 12:20 am

    Hello, I’m running Ubuntustudio 16.10 64bit and I’ve done everything in the right way (32 bit and 64 bit successfully reg. but no wineasio working at all ! And I’ve no lib32 or lib64 on my laptop installation but other paths which i suppose are made according to the directories structure of ubuntustudio. Any suggestion ? Thanx ! :)

  3. rock February 15, 2017 at 8:52 am

    The repository given is out of date. please refer http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/Repositories for repositories. and then continue from step:2.

  4. Mauro November 1, 2017 at 10:34 am

    “wine64 regsvr32 wineasio.dll” faltou o .dll

  5. Pingback: MIDI on ubuntu – Hanin.net

  6. Paul October 14, 2018 at 6:57 am

    I get the “Failed to load DLL wineasio.dll” message. Running 32 bit Ubuntu 16.04 and latest stable version of Wine. I’m a struggling linux nube. The folders you mentioned aren’t even there. Should i try and create the folders and copy files there? Very skeptical about that because they look like systems folders. Please help.

    • Anonymous Meerkat October 14, 2018 at 9:27 am

      It’s admittedly been a very long time since I’ve tried to do this, but I’ve checked the folder structure of wine from 16.04, and the new paths seem to be:

      64-bit: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/wine
      32-bit: /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/wine

      See if this works for you :)

      I should note, the version of wine included with Ubuntu 16.04 is very old. Although wineasio should still work, I would recommend using the repository described at https://wiki.winehq.org/Ubuntu to update wine if you have any issues running programs.

      • Paul October 14, 2018 at 8:21 pm

        Thanks. I checked the path (32 bit) and the file wineasio.dll.so is the only file there. I also made sure that the version of wine is the most current, which it is. Any idea why it won’t register?

        • Anonymous Meerkat October 14, 2018 at 8:52 pm

          Hm, that’s definitely not right either, there should be many files under that folder. I just checked the PPA however, and it does seem they use different paths:

          64-bit: /opt/wine-devel/lib64/wine/
          32-bit: /opt/wine-devel/lib/wine/

          Try copying the files there instead.

          • Paul October 18, 2018 at 7:21 pm

            Holy crap it worked. I had to sudo mv the wineasio file into that directory and it registered. I can’t thank you enough!

Leave a comment