lkubuntu

A listing of random software, tips, tweaks, hacks, and tutorials I made for Ubuntu

How to remove the annoying YouTube lightsaber sound

Google pulled off a clever marketing stunt for Star Wars, allowing you to “choose your side of the force” – which consequently changes various Google products to fit the theme accordingly.

One change they introduced added lightsaber sound effects when you hover over the volume icon on a Youtube video. While being a cute gimmick, I found this to be quite annoying, especially when listening to music, so I spent the morning trying to make a small script that would disable it.

I thought I would share it, since I’m guessing there are others who also find this annoying

It works most of the time, but if you hover over the volume icon before the script has a chance to run, the sound will still happen. Just wait a second or two, and it will work :) Also, if you just installed the extension, you will need to reload the page.

I uploaded a unified codebase to github, mainly since I didn’t like constantly having to copy files from/to various codebases :P Here it is, if anyone’s interested: https://github.com/AnonymousMeerkat/youtube-no-lightsaber

35 responses to “How to remove the annoying YouTube lightsaber sound

  1. Jayson Ragasa December 10, 2015 at 1:30 am

    I really don’t like it as well.

  2. Ivan December 11, 2015 at 8:35 am

    [censored] you man, there is google option to change side you are on and go to default theme as well

  3. Brandon December 13, 2015 at 6:03 pm

    Thank you so very much for this.
    I only hope my love for the hum of a lightsaber hasn’t already been ruined.

    • Anonymous Meerkat December 13, 2015 at 6:11 pm

      You’re most welcome, I’m glad you enjoy it!! And true haha I’m waiting a bit on the movie, for recovery :P (.. and the fact that there’s no way I can get a ticket for the movie by now, but shhhh, it’s _really_ the hum! XD)

  4. DieGele December 18, 2015 at 11:54 am

    Thanks a lot, It works fine!

  5. ilfarodealessandria December 19, 2015 at 11:01 pm

    It removes the sound but not the light!

  6. Douglas Heiler December 21, 2015 at 5:02 am

    And if you want to undo all the effects completely, google.com/starwars, choose change side, slide the icon back to the middle, and click on return to default.

  7. amsterdamguy December 21, 2015 at 12:24 pm

    Thanks.. works with my Firefox :)

  8. Alejandro December 23, 2015 at 10:20 pm

    Muchas gracias! Ya me estaba volviendo loco con ese sonido!

  9. Alejandro December 23, 2015 at 10:26 pm

    Tiene problemas cuando habilito el modo incógnito en Google Chrome! Podrías revisarlo? De antemano muchas gracias!!

  10. saltyjohnson December 27, 2015 at 2:01 am

    Chrome seems to have finally disabled unlisted extensions entirely. Mind if I upload it to the Web Store myself?

  11. drew December 27, 2015 at 8:15 am

    Thank you so very much! Was driving me crazy with that damn sound. I kept expecting it to go away after a limited time… but no. Good work.

  12. Jack Wicksy Wicks December 28, 2015 at 10:18 am

    This can be removed by going to google.com/starwars/ then going choose a side and putting your avatar in the middle

  13. Doctor Vapor December 30, 2015 at 6:53 pm

    The script works perfectly. Thank you so much for getting that damn lightsaber sfx off my youtube vids.

  14. Michael January 10, 2016 at 3:56 pm

    For individuals that may have Edge or IE browser this script isn’t an option. Don’t worry though, there is a solution… you can go to: https://www.google.com/starwars/ and click on the change your side button. It will have a slider in the middle of the screen and if you select the center option it will reset your google experience to normal, no more annoying lightsaber sound on youtube.

  15. Jamie January 17, 2016 at 3:33 am

    Perfect, thank you! As a headphone user, I nearly jumped out of my skin the first time I heard it. Now it’s just irritating…

    • Anonymous Meerkat January 17, 2016 at 11:40 am

      Haha I know, right? XD I read about it before I enabled it, and I thought ‘ah, the article must have been mistaken … there’s no way google would do something as annoying as thi– ….. nevermind’ XD

  16. ron January 19, 2016 at 8:27 am

    thank you thank you thank you

  17. DD January 31, 2016 at 8:42 pm

    Hey–just go to your chrome settings–go into advanced–and RESET to your default settings and it will be gone. Promise.

Leave a comment